President of India

About Prime Minister of India

The President of India is the head of the executive, legislature and judiciary of the country. Article 52 of the Constitution of India says that there should be a President of India. Article 53 says that all the executive powers of the Union shall be exercised by him either directly or through officers subordinate to him.

Pranab Mukherjee is the current & 13th President of India. He took office on July 25th, 2012. Pranab Mukherjee is a veteran congressman who has served both in the government as well as the opposition.

76 year old Mukherjee has held several high profile portfolios in the government, including Finance, Defence & Foreign Ministry.

Powers of President

The President of India is vested with the Executive, Legislative, Emergency, Diplomatic, Judicial and Military powers.

All the executive powers of the Union shall be vested in him. These powers should be exercised by him in accordance with the Constitution of India. He appoints the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers. He also appoints the judges of the Supreme Court and the High Courts in the states, besides appointing the Attorney General and Comptroller and auditor General of India. Among other critical powers, he enjoys the pardoning power, whereby he can pardon the death sentence awarded to a convict.

He can dissolve the Lok Sabha and end a session of the Parliament. He can also address the Parliament in its first session every year. He can nominate 12 members to the Rajya Sabha. These members must have extra ordinary accomplishments in the fields of science, art, literature and social service. He can also nominate 2 members to the Lok Sabha from the Anglo-Indian Community. When a bill is passed by the Parliament, the President can give or withhold his assent to it. He can also return it to the Parliament, unless it’s a Money Bill or a Constitutional Amendment Bill.

He can declare national, state and financial emergency. National emergency can be declared on the grounds of war, external aggression or armed rebellion in the country. This can be done on the written request of the Cabinet Ministers after the proclamation has been approved by the Parliament. State emergency can be imposed in a state if it fails to run constitutionally. Financial emergency can be proclaimed if there is a likelihood of the financial instability in the country.

Only when the President recommends can a money bill be introduced in the Parliament. He lays the Union budget before the Parliament and makes advances out of the Contingency Fund.

He appoints ambassadors and high commissioners to other countries. All international treaties are signed on his behalf. Under Military powers, he can declare war and conclude peace. He appoints Chief of Army, Navy and Air Force. He can dismiss judges if two-third majority of the members present of the two Houses of the Parliament pass the resolution to that effect.

List of Presidents of India

President NameFromToProfiles
Pranab Mukherjee25th July 2012Incumbent13th President of India and a senior leader of the Indian National Congress.
Pratibha Patil 25th July 200725th July 201212th President of India and the first women to hold the post.
Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 25th July 200225th July 200711th President of India and an extremely talented scientist who has worked in organizations such as DRDO and ISRO.
Kocheril Raman Narayanan25th July 199725th July 2002Tenth President of the Republic of India and one of "the best diplomat of the country".
Shankar Dayal Sharma 25th July 199225th July 19979th President of the Republic of India and a member of the Indian National Congress.
Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25th July 198725th July 19928th President of India and an indian lawyer and politician by profession.
Giani Zail Singh 25th July 198225th July 19877th President of India and a member of the Indian National Congress and a sikh by religion.
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25th July 197725th July 19826th President of India and the only person to be elected as the president of India unopposed.
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24th August 197411th February 19775th President of the Republic of India and an active member of the Indian National Congress.
Basappa Danappa Jatti 11th February 197725th July 1977Jatti was sworn in as Acting President of India upon Ahmed’s death. He earlier was the Chief Minister for the State of Mysore.
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 24 August 196924 August 19744th President of India belonging to a Telugu Brahmin family residing in Andhra Pradesh.
Mohammad Hidayatullah July 20, 1969August 24, 1969Hidayatullah served as Acting President of India until the election of Giri as the President of India.
Varahagiri Venkata Giri May 3, 1969July 20, 1969Giri was the Acting President of India following the death of Hussain. However he resigned in a few months to take part in the presidential elections.
Dr. Zakir Hussain May 13, 1967May 3, 19693rd President of India and the country’s first Muslim President.
Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13th May 196213th May 19672nd President of India and the reason why Teacher’s Day is celebrated every year on 5th September.
Dr. Rajendra Prasad 26th January 195013th May 19621st President of the Republic of India and a member of the Indian National Congress.