Prime Minister of India

About Prime Minister of India

The Prime Minister of India is the head of the executive branch of the Government of India. His position is distinct from that of the President of India, who is the head of the State.

As India follows a parliamentary system of government modelled after the Westminster system, most of the executive powers are exercised by the Prime Minister. He acts as an advisor to the President and is the leader of the Council of Ministers.

The President appoints the Prime Minister of India and on his advice, appoints the Council of Ministers. The Prime Minister can be a member of either the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha.

Powers/Authorities of Prime Minister

The various powers and authorities enjoyed by the Prime Minister are as follows:

The Prime Minister of India is the head of the Government. Though the President is the head of the State, most of the executive decisions are taken by the Prime Minister. All the important decision-making bodies in India, like the Union Cabinet and the Planning Commission, run under his supervision.

As far as the Prime Minister’s relation to the Council of Ministers is concerned, his position is that of “First among Equals”. In the case of death or resignation of the Prime Minister, the entire Council of Ministers has to resign. The ministers directly report to the Prime Minister. He can also remove a minister by asking for his resignation or having him dismissed by the President. If any difference of opinion arises between the Prime Minister and any other minister, the opinion of the Prime Minister prevails.

The Prime Minister is the Leader of the House to which he belongs. He can also take part in debates in the House of which he is not a member. He can also advise the President to dissolve the Lok Sabha.

In international affairs, he is the spokesperson of the country. The Prime Minister plays a major role in directing India’s foreign policy.

Who is your Favorite PM ?

List of Prime Ministers of India

Prime MinistersFromToParty
Shri. Narendra ModiMay 26, 2014IncumbentBharatiya Janata Party
Dr. Manmohan SinghMay 22, 2004May 26, 2014Indian National Congress
Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Mar 19, 1998May 22, 2004Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Inder Kumar Gujral Apr 21, 1997Mar 19, 1998Janata Dal
Shri H. D. Deve Gowda Jun 1, 1996Apr 21, 1997Janata Dal
Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee May 16, 1996Jun 1, 1996Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri P. V. Narasimha RaoJun 21, 1991May 16, 1996Congress (I)
Shri Chandra Shekhar Nov 10, 1990Jun 21, 1991Janata Dal
Shri Vishwanath Pratap Singh Dec 2, 1989Nov 10, 1990Janata Dal
Shri Rajiv GandhiOct 31, 1984Dec 2, 1989Congress (I)
Smt. Indira Gandhi Jan 14, 1980Oct 31, 1984Congress (I)
Shri Charan SinghJul 28, 1979Jan 14, 1980Janata Party
Shri Morarji Desai Mar 24, 1977Jul 28, 1979Janata Party
Smt. Indira GandhiJan 24, 1966Mar 24, 1977Congress
Shri Gulzari Lal NandaJan 11, 1966Jan 24, 1966Congress
Shri Lal Bahadur ShastriJun 9, 1964Jan 11, 1966Congress
Shri Gulzari Lal NandaMay 27, 1964Jun 9, 1964Congress
Shri Jawaharlal NehruAug 15, 1947May 27, 1964Congress